DOWNLOAD Lumen 2017 Eligibility and Submission Requirements

Click Here for Helpful Tips for Preparing a Winning 2017 Lumen Entry

2017 Lumen Committee

Clara Powell, Traxon Technologies
Adrienne Shulman, Tech Lighting

Board Advisors
Megan Carroll, Acuity Brands
Randy Sabedra
, RS Lighting Design

Jordan Cohen, International Lights
Jay Dompor, Cooley Monato Studio
Nathalie Faubert, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design
Manny Feris, Lutron Electronics
Anna Kim, Enterprise Lighting Sales
James O’Blaney, O’Blaney Rinker Associates

Check out the 2016 Lumen Gallery

Check Out 2016 Lumen Journal


2017 Lumen Awards Call for Entries

Click Here to Submit Your Project

EXTENDED DEADLINE for submissions

Closing Date is now January 23, 2017, 11:59pm EST

Get your Projects Ready!

Submission Requirements
1. Lighting Designer and Project information
2. NEW! A project summary of 400 words or less, describing the project and lighting design, and cued to each image. Click here for example
3. NEW! Up to 12 high-resolution digital images.
4. One Optional Video.
5. $125 entry fee per project submission.

The New York City Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IESNYC) Lumen Awards are open to any interior or exterior architectural lighting design project completed within two years’ time of the submission deadline. Anyone can enter a project for consideration, but wherever possible, we require the lighting designer responsible for the lighting scheme is credited.
Eligible projects must be designed by a NYC based designer for a project located anywhere in the world, 
OR the project must be located in NYC regardless of the location of the designer.

DOWNLOAD IESNYC Lumen 2017 Submission and Eligibility Requirements

If you have any questions, email the Lumen Committee at

PLEASE NOTE: If you are interested in submitting a project for the 2017 IES Illumination Awards you must use their separate portal. To submit to the 2017 IES Illumination Awards, please click here. As of Jan. 2016, submitting to the IESNYC Lumen Awards will no longer enter your project in the IES Illumination Awards program.

About the IESNYC Lumen Awards

The Lumen Awards were established in 1968 by the New York City Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society (IESNYC) and developed to publicly recognize excellence, professionalism, ingenuity and originality in lighting design with the following distinct award categories:

Lumen Award of Excellence
Highest level of achievement for a permanent architectural application

Lumen Award of Merit
Meritorious achievement for permanent architectural application

Lumen Citation
Special recognition for a permanent or temporary lighting installation, technical detail, portion of a single project, or other work