We invite and welcome you to join us in volunteering for our section. If you are interested in volunteering for any of our committees, click here

Digital Communications and Archives Committee

Manages and maintains our New York City Section website, online calendar and event registration, gallery and digital media, and email communications. Archives both physical and digital records of our Section’s history of leadership, activities, and achievements.

Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design

Board Liaison and Calendar Manager
Brian Belluomini, Shimstone Design Studio

Archives Coordinator:
Alexis Arnoldi, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design


Education Committee

The Education Committee offers educational classes and workshops to the specification and design community, focusing on design and technical aspects of architectural lighting and electrical engineering.

Natalia Lesniak, Lumen Architecture

Golsana Heshmati
, The SEED
Cheyo Rogers, Siemens
Daniel Rong, Delos Lighting


Finance Committee

The mission of the Finance Committee is to review and oversee all financial activity of the section, and provide recommendations to the IESNYC Board of Managers. 

Mike Barr, Lutron Electronics Co, Inc.

Philip Cialdella, Light Abilities
Anna Kim, Enterprise Lighting Sales
Caleb McKenzie, US Lighting Consultants
Kacie Stigliano, SLS Lighting
Bradley Telias, Enterprise Lighting Sales


History Committee

The History Committee documents the lessons and innovations of past leaders in our industry – designers, architects, engineers, manufacturers and other lighting professionals within the NYC Metropolitan area.

Addison Kelly, US Lighting Consultants
William Maiman, William L. Maiman Consulting

T.A.L.K. Oral History Project
Dan Blitzer, Contract Marketing
Peter Jacobson, Con Edison
Robert Nadel, Energy and Lighting Systems, Ltd

Manny Feris, Lutron Electronics

BOM Liaison
Peter Jacobson, Con Edison


Lumen Committee

The Lumen Committee produces the annual IESNYC Lumen Awards program culminating in the Lumen Gala. The Lumen Awards program recognizes excellence, ingenuity, and originality in lighting design.

Clara Powell, Cooledge
Adrienne Shulman, ERCO Lighting, Inc.

Board Liason and Creative Director:
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design

Lumen Gala and Journal Sales Chair:
Anna Kim, Enterprise Lighting Sales

Lighting Coordinator:
Jordan Cohen, International Lights

Social Media Coordinator:
Matt Dacey, The Dulanski Group

Masters of Ceremony:
James O’Blaney, O’Blaney Rinker Associates
Nathaniel Bliss, Specification Lighting Sales

Statue and Certificate Coordinator:
Nathalie Faubert, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design

Print and Digital Designer:
Cathy Bontempo, Harborlight Design

Megan Carroll
, New York Digital
Rachel Gibney, Available Light
Rinkinson Gohel
, Bliss Fasman
Asher Schoenberg, Stan Deutsch Associates

Membership Committee

The Member Committee cultivates relationships with lighting specifiers, manufacturers, sales representatives, educators and the scientific community in order to promote growth of membership and volunteerism.

Kacie Stigliano, SLS Lighting
Paola Bernal, Renfro Design Group

Jessica Kaller, SLS
Joseph Belfer, Cerberus Consulting
Shaun Fillion, NYSID | RAB Lighting
Elaine Cook, Moxie Lighting

Nominations & Awards Committee

Organizes annual IESNYC and IES Section Services Awards, membership recognitions, and Board elections as appointed by section president

New York City Lighting Council

The New York City Lighting Council serves as an information source and champion for issues involving the use of lighting in and about the New York Cityscape. The Council provides web-based resources ( for the public, and serves as a forum and reference for lighting professionals.

Addison Kelly, US Lighting Consultants

Board Liaison
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design

Anne Cheney, Melanie Freundlich Lighting Design
Jim Conti, Jim Conti Lighting Design

David De Armas, Stan Deutsch Associates

Adam Kroll, Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design

Linda Leconte, Edison Price Lighting

Natalia Lesniak, Lumen Architecture

Kyle C. MacKenzie, Thomas Polise Consulting Engineer PC

Kass Negash, W. Allen Engineering PLLC
Nira Wattanachote, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design
Steven Zirinsky, Zirinsky Architecture


North Programs Committee

The North Programs Committee produces a series of programs for our members who live outside the five boroughs. Programs are held in the counties north of the city in the lower Hudson Valley.

Lucia Granieri, HZ Electric Supply Co.

Karen Duffy, B-K Lighting/Teka Illumination
Diana Mesh, Lighting Design and Consultation
Kim Ryan
, LMV Architects
Beth Steinmetz
Kathy Waterous, VBC Lighting


NYC Programs Committee

The NYC Programs Committee plans a full calendar of monthly programs, usually held the second Wednesday evening of the month, to keep members active in the Society, informed about current design issues and considerations, and to provide CEU credits.
Monica Fuerderer, WSP

Rinkinson Gohel, Bliss Fasman
Melissa Goren, LightBox Studios
Michiru Tanaka, Michiru Tanaka Lighting Design
Gisbel Videla, LightBox Studios


IESNYC Richard Kelly Grant Committee

Organizes meetings and coordination with Richard Kelly Grant Board of Directors with regards to fundraising, announcements and planning of events to celebrate recipients and allow them to present their ideas/work.
Addison Kelly, US Lighting Consultants
Caleb McKenzie
, US Lighting Consultants
Stephen D. Bernstein, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design
Scott Hershman, LF Illumination
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design

Board Liaison:
Philip Cialdella, Light Abilities


Scholarships Committee

Establish and manage a scholarship program for the benefits of matriculating design students in an accredited New York State college who have chosen to focus and concentrate on the field of architectural lighting

Chair and Board Liaison:
Caleb McKenzie, US Lighting Consultants

Addison Kelly, US Lighting Consultants
Pete Jacobson, Con Edision
Stephen Bernstein, CBB Lighting Design
Mike Barr, Lutron
3 additional guests TBD


Sponsorship Committee

The Sponsorship Committee reaches out to encourage sponsors to lend their yearly support and endeavors to entice new sponsors to help raise educational funds for the IESNYC.

Mike Barr
, Lutron Electronics
Colin Conroy, Lightcraft

Joseph Belfer, Cerberus Consulting
Peping Dee
, Inform LightWorks
Melissa Goren, Lightbox Studio
Shaun Fillion, NYSID | RAB Lighting
Brigid Hardiman, Lightcraft
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design


Student Lighting Competition Committee

The Student Lighting Competition Committee organizes an annual lighting competition that challenges design students to build a 3-dimensional lighting study in response to an abstract theme statement developed by the committee.
Brigid Hardiman, Lightcraft Group
John Delfino, Available Light

Board Advisor:
Shaun Fillion, NYSID | RAB Lighting

Founding Advisor:
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design

Joseph Belfer
, Cerberus Consulting
David del Rosario, WSP USA
Nick DeSordi, Atelier Ten
Rinkinson Gohel, Bliss Fasman Inc
Steven Greenberg, ROYGBIV, Inc.
Linda Leconte, Edison Price Lighting
Kass Negash, W. Allen Engineering PLLC
Craig Young, Ventresca Lighting Designers