Nine IESNYC Members are Among 40 Winners Named as North America’s Most Promising Up-and-Coming Lighting Designers

On March 12th, some of our younger members of the IESNYC were announced as winners of the 40under40 North America program during an international presentation ceremony at the Parker Hotel in New York. To recognize and celebrate the new generation of lighting design talent, 40 young lighting designers are selected as North American representatives of this new generation and ambassadors for their industry. Their mission is to take the craft forward in the twenty-first century, and to build on the work of the pioneers who created the profession and achieved recognition for it in previous decades.

Nominated by their principals and peers, and selected by a prestigious panel of industry expert selectors who based their decisions on submissions, citations and supporting evidence, the winners receive global recognition.

Practices in the list include Horton Lees Brogden, with no fewer than seven members and Arup with three. Also making the cut are candidates from Cline Bettridge Bernstein, Auerbach Glasow, Tillotson Design Associates, L’Observatoire International, Office for Visual Interaction, Schuler Shook, Cline Bettridge Bernstein, Focus Lighting, Lam Partners, HGA Architects and Engineers, WSP, and KGM Architectural Lighting.

40under40 North America is supported by LEDucation, Lighting magazine, The New School at Parsons and PennWell’s media brands in the LED and Lighting Network.


The IESNYC would like to extend our congratulations to our members:


Bradley Sisenwain
Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design

Jeff Hoenig
Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design
Co-Chair IESNYC Education Committee

Francesca Bastianini
Sighte Studio

Ilva Dodaj
Domingo Gonzalez Associates

Juan José Acosta
Schwinghammer Lighting

Kelly Hannon
Focus Lighting

Kevin Womack

Monica Llamas
Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design

Ramy Makhaly
Office for Visual Interaction



Suzan Tillotson, Tillotson Design Associates, an IESNYC member and multiple Lumen Award winner was Keynote speaker at 40under40 North America Presentation evening.

Suzan Tillotson was named Lighting Designer of the Year for her creativity, design integrity and her bold approach to project challenges. Her exemplary body of work has often broken new ground for the lighting design profession. She has also contributed to advancing the stature of the lighting design profession.

Outstanding recent projects include the Lighting Design Award-winning R/GA office in New York, the Broud in Los Angeles and the Lincoln Square Synagogue in New York.

Suzan Tillotson has 20 years experience in the business and has worked with pioneers including Howard Brandston and Jerry Kugler. Seminal career projects include the Seattle Central Public Library, the New Museum for Contemporary Art in lower Manhattan and Prada Beverly Hills with the Office for Metropolitan Architecture.

 For more Information visit the 40under40 North America website