The IESNYC recognizes excellence in the field of lighting by sponsoring annual awards programs and design grants.

IESNYC Section Service Awards

Brilliance is defined as extreme brightness or radiance, exceptional intelligence, ability, skill, or talent, imposing splendor or magnificence. Each year, the IESNYC proudly recognizes members with these qualities; individuals who make the New York City Section shine by awarding the following awards: Brilliance Award, IES Section Meritorious Award, IES Section Service Award, IESNYC Special Recognition Award, Golden Achievement Award and Achievement Award. Service Award Recipients >

IESNYC Lumen Awards

The IESNYC Lumen Awards program was conceived and managed by the New York City Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society in 1968. It was developed to publicly recognize lighting design members whose exceptional professionalism, ingenuity and originality in lighting design has culminated in some of the world’s most innovative lighting projects.

 Submissions are judged and Awards of Excellence, Merit and Citations are awarded at the celebratory Annual Lumen Awards Gala. Learn More >

IESNYC Student Lighting Competition

Students from New York colleges and universities are invited to participate in a lighting design competition. Students are required to explore light as an art form, demonstrate light as a stimulus, and prove light as a valuable medium. Awards of $2,000, $1,000 and $500 are given respectively to the first, second and third place winners. Student projects are showcased at an exhibition/awards ceremony and viewed by industry professionals. Winners are also sponsored to attend the Lumen Gala, at which they are given recognition and an opportunity to showcase their work. Learn More >

IESNYC Thesis Prize

The IESNYC Thesis Prize is an annual $1,000 award given to two graduating students whose thesis projects demonstrate excellence in design and/or research and best represent the intellectual insight, rigor and quality standards as set forth by the respective school department and the student’s thesis committee. Recipients have the opportunity to present their thesis projects to the New York City lighting community at a special presentation event and eligible for consideration to be sent to the IES Annual Conference and present their work. Learn More >

IESNYC Scholarship

The IESNYC awards a $25,000 merit-based single-year scholarship to recognize and support the educational endeavors of graduate students in the field of architectural lighting. The scholarship also includes acceptance into a IESNYC mentorship program that provides valuable opportunities to interact and collaborate with professionals in the architectural lighting industry. Learn More >

Richard Kelly Grant

The Richard Kelly Grant was established by the New York Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society in 1980. Originally conceived as a scholarship program and later opened to young persons working in lighting in North America, the Grant is administered by the New York Section under the auspices of the IESNA. The purpose is to recognize and encourage creative thought and activity in the use of light. Cash award(s) are granted to the person(s) who preserve and carry forth Richard Kelly’s ideals, enthusiasm and reverence for light.