2014 Jurors

Steven Rosen, IES, IALD, lighting designer and principal of Available Light (Thumbprint)
Margaret Rietveld, FAIA, BNA, LEED AP, partner, Rietveld Architects (Tentacle)
Paul Tarricone, editor/associate publisher, LD + A (Cave)
David Weeks, designer of lighting, furniture, household products and founder of David Weeks Studio (Flux).

Keynote Speaker: Steven Rosen

Student Competiton Video

Watch a video essay of all
the winning projects.

To View Additional Photos from the 2014 Student Competition

Click Here

2014 Committee:

Shaun Fillion, OSRAM Sylvania
Erin Gussert, Kugler Ning Lighting Design
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design
Maria Dautant, HLB Lighting Design
David Del Rosario, One Lux Studio
Kass Negash, W. Allen Engineering
DJ Park, Pratt Institute
June Park, HLB Lighting Design
Rachel Yun, Pratt Institute

Download Press Release

For additional press information,
contact Linda G. Miller
Communications + Marketing
[email protected]

Winners of The 2014 New York City Student Lighting Competition


This year’s theme – A LIGHT TOUCH – asked students if they could ‘touch with their eyes’ and challenged them to consider how light conveys the sensation of touch. As in previous years, students are tasked to apply their education, ingenuity, and skills in order to take an elusive concept and transform it into a three-dimensional illuminated visual experience.

Out of an unprecedented 160 student submissions from the New York City-area, “Livre Noir,” designed by Esli Teker, attending Parsons The New School of Design won First Prize in the Illuminating Engineering Society New York City Section’s (IESNYC) 14th annual Student Lighting Competition. Teker received a cash award of $2,000 from the section. Second prize was awarded to Pratt Institute’s Ia-Chi Pan and third prize went to Jordan Ringdahl also of Pratt, who received $1,000 and $500 respectively. Additionally, four students and their projects received honorable mentions.

Submissions from this year’s competition came from students studying lighting design, architecture, art, electrical engineering, interior design, product design, photography, and product design in undergraduate and graduate programs in area schools including Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT), Fordham University, New York School of Interior Design (NYSID), Parsons The New School of Design, Pratt Institute, and the School of Visual Arts (SVA).


2014 Winners Projects

First Prize

“Livre Noir” by Esli Teker
Parsons The New School of Design
BFA – Product Design

Erika Doering, instructor

Teker’s project, “Livre Noir,” can be described as a book that’s full of secrets and these confidences can only be read once the book is touched and it becomes illuminated. The installation engages several of the senses and beckons interaction. By touching the “black book,” it produces different colors and elicits various moods. As viewer flip through the pages of the book, they are invited to share their own feelings.

Second Prize

“Divisiono Interactive” by Ia-Chi Pan
Pratt Institute, BID – Industrial Design

Scott Vandervoort, instructor

Third Prize

"Fluid Passage" by Jordan Ringdahl
Pratt Institute, BID – Industrial Design

Scott Lundberg, instructor

Honorable Mention

“Tentacle” by Huira Koo
Parsons The New School for Design
BFA - Product Design

Andrea Ruggiero, instructor

Honorable Mention

“Cave” by Emily Soderberg
Pratt Institute, BID – Industrial Design

Willy Schwenzfeier, instructor

Honorable Mention

“Lambent Contingence”
by Armand Damato

Pratt Institute, BID – Industrial Design

Scott Lundberg, instructor

Honorable Mention

“Flux” by Dillon Chen
Pratt Institute, BID – Industrial Design

Willy Schwenzfeier, instructor

Honorable Mention

“Thumbprint” by Tobias Holler
Parsons The New School of Design
MFA Architectural Lighting

Derek Porter, instructor