2009 Jurors

Christine Hope, Focus Lighting
Charles Matz, AIA and RIBA
Jack Weisberg, US Sound Engine 27
Sun Hee Lim, Senior Associate at Johnson Light Studio
Marc Clemenceau Bailly, founding partner of Gage/Clemenceau Architects

Keynote Speaker

As founder and principal of Tillett Lighting Design, Inc., Linnaea Tillett, PhD has long been a shining light in the industry. Her company’s reputation for artistry, technical innovation and functionality has led to collaborations with some of the world’s most acclaimed architects, interior designers and artists. Since 1992, she has been a  faculty member of the Masters in Lighting Design Program at Parsons The New School for Design. Her wealth of talent, academic degrees and diverse experience combine to make her  a sought-after and frequent speaker on lighting, public space, and the psychology and physiology of lighting.

To View Additional Photos from the 2009 Student Competition
Click Here

2009 Committee

Brian Belluomini, Lighting Consultant
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design
Lauren Belanger, Fisher Marantz Stone
Event Planning
Rachel Eichorn, Johnson Light Studio
Eleanor Macdonald, Tirschwell & Co., Inc
Scott Thurm, Bartco Lighting
Merve Cubukcuoglu, Tirschwell & Co.
School Relations
Eri Kosuge, Cooley Monato Studio
Shelly Haniff, Lighting Consultant
Chung Jung Liao, Brandston Partnership Inc.

Download Press Release

For additional press information,
contact Linda G. Miller
Communications + Marketing
[email protected]

Winners of The 2009 New York City Student Lighting Competition


From the glow of anticipation, to the brilliance of the entries, the IESNYC, hosted an exhilarating Ninth Annual Student Design Competition and Exhibition, March 4th and 5th at the Helen Mills Theater.

This year's theme - Audible Light - asked students to create a 3-dimensional study using light to mimic the properties of sound. Students of lighting, architecture, interior design, art, product design, photography and electrical engineering programs created three-dimensional work designed to conceptually convey a sensory perception of sound. This exercise in “synesthesia” elicited more than fifty five submissions in a diverse range of variations on the theme. All displayed a level of creativity and ingenuity that not only impressed those who attended the reception and exhibition opening, but also made selection of the winners difficult for the jury.

First Place Award of $3,000 cash and participation in the prestigious one week lighting design workshop in Europe sponsored by PLDA, Professional Lighting Designer’s Association, was won by Hye Yeun Lee, of Parsons for “Subway Sound”. Second Place Award of $1500 went to Ching-Yu Lin for his “Hey! It’s a Party”. Third Place Award of $1000 was won by the team of, Young Taek Oh, who studies Interactive Telecommunications at NYU, and, Sukmo Koo, an Industrial Design student at Pratt Institute.


2009 Winners Projects

First Prize

“Subway Sounds” by Hye Yeun Lee
Parsons The New School of Design
Interior Design

Randy Sabedra, instructor

Inspired by her daily subway ride, where her favorite distraction en route is to “look at the beautiful lights,” Lee's project captures the experience spatially, kinetically and visually. One can sense speeding through a tunnel with the movement of lights evoking the sounds of a screeching train. This was her first project is lighting design she has ever attempted.

Second Prize

“Hey! It’s a Party” by Ching-Yu Lin
Parsons School of Design
MFA– Lighting Design

Nelson Jenkins, instructor

Hey! It’s a Party is an interactive turntable design. It responds with light to one’s touch when spinning records in patterns that shine through, simulating and stimulating a sense of rhythm.

Third Prize

"Make It Rain-Rain Box" by team of Sukmo Koo and Young Taek Oh
Pratt Institute, Industrial Design and NYU, Interactive Telecommunications 

Karen Stone, instructor

The “Make It Rain-Rain Box,” project mimics sound of raindrops on a roof with “drops” of light that are activated when one pushes a button.

Honorable Mention

“Rhythyms” by Kacie Stigliano 
Parsons The New School for Design
MFA - Lighting Design

Nelson Jenkins, instructor

Honorable Mention

“The Sound of Glitz” by Sungbin Ma 
Parsons The New School for Design
MFA - Lighting Design

Nelson Jenkins, instructor