2012 Jurors

Robert F. Gatje FAIA, Robert F. Gatje Architect
Brian Labbe, national sales manager, Bartco Lighting
K. Brett Malak AIA, president Brett Malak Lighting Design
Sang Lee, associate at Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design and grand prize winner of the first annual IESNYC Student Lighting Competition held in 2000

Keynote Speaker

The keynote address was delivered by Dietrich Neumman, the Royce Family Professor for the History of Modern Architecture and Urban Studies at Brown University. He has published a number of books on architectural illumination - "Architecture of the Night," "Luminous Buildings" and "The Structure of Light: Richard Kelly and the Illumination of modern Architecture" - and has organized major exhibitions about Kelly at the Netherlands Architecture Institute in Rotterdam and Yale University. His speech focused on Kelly, a pioneering architectural lighting designer who collaborated with architects including Mies van der Rohe, Philip Johnson, Eero Saarinen, and Louis Kahn. In his opening, Neumann exclaimed that “I’ve seen the future of lighting design,” referring to all of the competition submissions that were on display.

To View Additional Photos from the 2012 Student Competition
Click Here

2012 Committee

Shaun Fillion, OSRAM Sylvania
Randy Sabedra, RS Lighting Design
Event Planning
Tae Young Kim, Kugler Ning Lighting Design
Erin Gussert, Kugler Ning Lighting Design
Sponsorship and Prize Trip Coordination
Paul Christensen, Solis LED
Georges Moghaizel, Debbas International

Winners of the 2012 New York City Student Lighting Competition


This year’s theme – Fraction / Refraction - challenged students to consider direction, distribution, and divergence of light and submit a three-dimensional study on how light plays with textures and flows through materials to create layers of contrast.

Sejung Oh, an industrial design major at Pratt Institute was awarded the grand prize at the IESNYC 12th annual student lighting design competition held on February 29, 2012. He received a three-day, all expense paid trip to Paris, the City of Light, plus $2,000 compliments of Debbas International. Oh had the opportunity to interface with lighting engineers and designers at the firm’s new Paris showroom and exhibit space, L’Atelier, and at La Machine, their factory outside the city. The IESNYC also awarded Yoon-Lee and Hamedanchian a cash prize of $1,000 and $500 respectively.
“The large number of entries we have is a direct result of educators choosing to include the competition as part of the required coursework for their classes,” said Shaun Fillion, chair of the Student Competition Committee and lighting project design manager at Osram Sylvania, “and this year’s high participation reflects the success of this collaborative effort, and confirms that instructors are finding this competition to be a valuable teaching tool in the classroom.”


2012 Winners Projects

First Prize

"Dal Beat" by Sejung Oh
Pratt Institute
BFA Industrial Design

Willy Schwenzfeier, instructor

Dal Beat is constructed of acrylic, an LED strip, and MDF - is a drum filled with water and light that when tapped, created a refraction of light and evokes the way the moonlight is reflected on water. “The name Dal Beat is a derived from dal bit, which is Korean for moonlight, says Oh. “I changed the name of my project as an invitation to viewers to tap or beat the drum to see the movement of the light.”  The jury felt Dal Beat was very beautiful and well constructed. They were impressed with the way it visualized the sound an instrument creates using light through a different medium and that it was interactive and felt alive.

Second Prize

"Ivre" by SangYoon-Lee
Pratt Institute
BID Industrial Design

Jonathan Thayer, instructor

Third Prize

Untitled by Farnaz Hamedanchian
New York School of Interior Design
MPS Interior Design
Charles Cameron, instructor 

Honorable Mention

"Quasar" by Andrew An
Pratt Institute
BID Interior Design

Patrick Fenton, instructor

Honorable Mention

"Obscura" by David Krawczyk
Pratt Institute
BID Industrial Design

Jeanne Pfordresher, instructor

Honorable Mention

"Nova" by Caleb Ferris
Pratt Institute
BID Industrial Design

Willy Schwenzfeier, instructor

Honorable Mention

"Midnight Glory" by Rupam Patheja
AAS Interior Design

Randy Sabedra, instructor